The relationship between mother and daughter is one of the most complex and emotionally intense of them all. From my own experience, I know this relationship can be exhausting and challenging, yet filled with very loving moments. My relationship with my daughter often confuses my husband and my son — and I must admit, at times I too am confused by it. I look at some mothers who are best friends with their daughters and I wonder how they manage to have that type of relationship. I look at my daughter at 20 years of age and I see me. Then, I remember my relationship with my own mother. We didn’t become best friends until I grew up. In my late 20s, I finally realised that my mother was the only person who truly understood me. She knew what I was thinking and feeling just by hearing my voice or by looking at me. Although my mother died 10 years ago, there is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about her. The 10 photos below (accompanied by some fantastic quotes) describe the sadness, anger, pain, unconditional love, as well as the fun and happy moments present in one of the most complex and loving relationships in existence — that between mother and daughter.

1.  Naomi Wolf

“A mother who radiates self-love and self acceptance actually vaccinates her daughter against low self-esteem.”

7.Agatha Christie

“A mother’s love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity, it dares all things and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path.” .                

9.     Maya Angelou

“I will look after you and I will look after anybody you say needs to be looked after, any way you say. I am here. I brought my whole self to you. I am your mother.”

10 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 8910 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 2710 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 9310 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 3210 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 3010 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 6910 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 9510 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 4710 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 9210 Photos to Recall Those Precious Moments Between Mother and Daughter - 52