With everything that is going on in our busy lives, me and my lovely girlfriend never hesitate to sit down at the dinner table, and have a good meal at the end of it all.  When preparing a meal, I try to factor in the cost of the meal, making sure its healthy, and of course making sure it tastes good.  With that in mind we eat a lot of chicken. Chicken can be really simple to prepare, tends to be more lean compared to beef, and pork, but the challenge is finding different ways to prepare it, other than using ‘Shake N Bake’.  I have compiled 15 of my families favorite recipes on how to prepare a tasty, and healthy chicken dinner.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

This recipe has a delicious, unique flavor to it, if you are a fan of honey mustard.  You can even make it easier on yourself, and use straight up honey mustard, rather than combining the two separate items.  Although I recommend a Dijon Mustard, it is good either way.  Serve it up with some fries, and macaroni and cheese, and you have yourself a simple, yet delicious meal. Recipe Source

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Who doesn’t love chicken nuggets?  I prefer these over the kinds in the bag any day.  They have more flavor, the chicken isn’t processed, and they don’t require too much time, or money. Recipe Source

Good Ol’ BBQ Chicken

This is probably one of my favorite recipes for barbecue chicken.  The homemade sauce is to die for, and the ingredients can be found in most kitchens.  You can always use store bought sauce, but you would be missing out if you did. Recipe Source

Pantry Raid Chicken Casserole 

This is a text book example of last minute cooking.  When I first stumbled across this recipe, I was shocked that I had all of the ingredients to my disposal.  This is another big favorite at my house, and since it is a casserole, you don’t really have to worry about a side! Another perfect last minute dish for the typical busy body. Recipe Source

Chicken and Dumplings

My grandma was famous for her secret recipe, and this is the closest I could find to hers so far.  I especially love making this because its one of those dishes that you can leave on the oven at a low temperature, and eat off of all day. Recipe Source

Oven Fried Chicken

I have to admit, I was a little hesitant to try this recipe, but now I am hooked.  Its just as good as deep fried chicken, its a lot less messy, and a whole lot better for you. Recipe Source

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

This tasty dish is dunked in garlic butter, breaded, and cheesed to perfection.  This ingredients for this dish are pretty common around the house as well.  This will surely please even the pickiest eater in your home. Recipe Source

Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

This is a good recipe for a home made chicken noodle soup.  Its a very simple to prepare, and very delicious.  Its not made entirely from scratch, but it sure tops all of the condensed soups. Recipe Source

Chicken Parmigiana

This is a very easy to follow recipe, and makes for a very good dinner.  I suggest this recipe highly. Recipe Source

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

I usually make this one in the slow cooker after I get out of work in the mornings, before I go to bed.  A neat thing about this recipe, is you can tweak it almost however you choose, and it always turns out amazing. Recipe Source

Garlic Cheese Chicken Roll Ups

This is almost the same as the garlic cheddar chicken, except how its prepared.  They have a different way of hitting your taste buds though, and I recommend you try them both, and you can be the judge between them. Recipe Source

BBQ Chicken Pizza

BBQ chicken pizza is by far my favorite kind of pizza, and this recipe is a good way of confirming that. Recipe Source

Chicken Tortilla Soup

The first time I’ve tried this was at a local sandwich shop that my sister works at, and I instantly fell in love.  This soup is good either mild, or spicy.  Experiment with that a little bit when trying this recipe! Recipe Source

Sweet and Sour Chicken

I stumbled across this recipe one day when I was craving Chinese food one day, and became hooked.  The home made sauce for this is to die for, but you could just as easily substitute it with store bought if you are short on time. Recipe Source

White Bean Chicken Chili

I prefer this kind of chili over traditional chili, and this is my favorite recipe by far.  I like to spice this one up a bit, and throw in some jalapeno peppers to the mix. Recipe Source Life is too short to not have a good dinner at the end of your day.  You owe it to yourself to a hot meal after a hard day, and these recipes are a good start. Go ahead, and try a few of them at the end of your long day.  Sit back, relax, and eat up my friend.     Featured photo credit: Food/dihdih via stockvault.net

15 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 8115 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 1815 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 4815 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 9615 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 5315 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 8115 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 9615 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 4515 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 715 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 7415 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 515 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 1515 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 4415 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 8715 Simple  Delicious Ways to Prepare Chicken - 43