This is a problem I’ve personally had to face on a number of occasions, and didn’t know what to do with my life for a long time. It was at this point that I knew something had to change and that in order to develop focus, I would have to change course and find another alternative to doing things, since my current lifestyle wasn’t giving me what I wanted.

Why too much choice is never ideal

We’re often told that having more would lead to happiness when in actual fact, the opposite occurs. Having too much choice inevitably causes us to lose value in the very thing we’re seeking since there is an abundance of it already, and it becomes something to take for granted, knowing that it will always be there. The key to avoiding this would be to eliminate everything that’s currently distracting you and to develop a clear mind, which will help you make better decisions as you move forward.

Get rid of distractions

Looking back, the times in which I was the most confused and frustrated was when I had an abundance of choice, which caused me to settle and not look for improvements or a higher purpose. Life and routine suddenly became a distraction and I found myself going through the motions on a daily basis, rather than stopping and reviewing my current circumstances. I knew that I had to somehow remove these distractions and to start discovering more challenges so I could begin pushing myself. What’s distracting you in your life? Are they things you’re comfortable with? What can you do right now that will make you feel uncomfortable? Write a list of everything that’s currently bothering you. The goal of this exercise is to discover what needs to improve in your life and to develop the habit of creating higher goals for yourself. If there’s no movement or progress in your life, then it becomes obvious that this needs to change.

Create goals and milestones

After you gain clarity about your current issues, it’s now imperative to write milestones for yourself that will help you push past your current threshold. Having a higher purpose is what will drive us to better ourselves and to not settle as explained earlier. Look to consistently create larger goals for yourself as it will help guide you in the direction you’ve always wanted.

Appreciate what you currently have

People often lose sight of the things around them and that causes them to turn in on themselves from time to time. It’s human nature to overlook the things we currently have and to feel dissatisfied of it due to having obtained it. It therefore becomes imperative to remind ourselves that what we currently have is a blessing, and to write about that daily. Attempting to grow without initially appreciating what we have will often always lead to dissatisfaction in the future due to lack of focus. Find appreciation in the things you have and in the life you currently lead. This will make it easier to grow, and will change the focus on growing to improve for the sake of improving and not just to obtain more and better things.

Be willing to fail

It is often said that if you’ve never failed, you’ve never lived, and this is something i definitely agree with. Looking back at my past, everything I’ve become has all resulted in failing numerous times until I developed competence at what I did in order to move forward. Don’t let fear stop you: use it as a learning tool to show you what you need to do in order to succeed. Learn to challenge yourself and step outside of your comfort zone. If something scares you, use it as a signal from your body to take action. It is an opportunity to grow and to become the person you’ve always wanted to be. Whatever person you wish to become in the future, these 4 hacks should provide you with a solid foundation to now go ahead and take action.