I’m not talking about apps that are universally useful (i.e. Evernote, Dropbox, Free Wi-Fi Finder, etc.). Nor am I referring to apps that are beneficial only to IT with access to a specific system (i.e. Cymphonix Mobile Monitor, MobileIron, etc.). While those are truly beneficial (especially Evernote – which has my vote for greatest app ever), I am referring to the apps that IT professionals can use regardless of their setup. So what are they?

Wyse PocketCloud ($0.99 Basic, $14.99 Pro)

One of the most useful apps I have in my toolkit for remote connectivity. I currently use the basic version which allows me total access to terminal servers and/or supported PC’s. I can manage Windows desktops remotely via RDP (remote desktop protocol) or VNC, and do so with much smoother navigation than I have found with other RDP apps. The Pro version offers a VMware option, eliminates banner ads and throws in a  few other knick knacks. For me, however, the basic version is sufficient for my connectivity needs.

Documents to Go (D2G) ($9.99 Office, $16.99 Premium)

IT has to have the ability to access and/or modify documents on the go. Whether its a Word document or a Spreadsheet containing network specs; IT needs this functionality away from the office PC. Documents to Go (D2G) provides this functionality while also allowing changes to these files to be synced between your desktop and mobile device. D2G Premium adds features like: syncing to Dropbox, SugarSync, Google Docs, Box.Net, etc. It also allows the creation and editing of PowerPoint files. This app is almost as handy as the toilet and running water…well…almost. I mean it’s handy, but it’s not worth going back to the outhouse bucket tossin’ days!

Deep WHOIS (Free)

This app allows you to search public WHOIS databases for hostnames, domains, IP Addresses, and more. This is a must have for network and system admins who are in charge of infrastructure security. It is especially handy when“bird dogging” a particular domain name in hopes of registering it when it expires.  

Net Master ($0.99/$4.99)

This app offers a ton of features and functionality, including some of most vital tools for network administration. You can scan and run diagnostics on every device connected to your Local Area Network (LAN), including ARP table scanning, Port scanning, NetBIOS scanning and Bonjour scanning. You also have the ability to perform Reverse DNS lookups, perform Trace Routes, a subnet calculator and much more. This is a highly used app in my toolkit, and for $0.99 I highly recommend it. Hell, I would’ve paid $10 for this bad boy.

Cisco SIO to Go (Free)

The Cisco Security Intelligence Operations (SIO) To Go app provides a real-time alert system. It is extremely informative; which enables you to respond to real-time threats on your network. I find having the information this app provides at my fingertips, makes me much more efficient (not to mention more knowledgeable). The presentation of real-time information from Cisco’s threat research center makes this a vital tool to anyone who deals with IT security. So, these are just some of the best apps on the iPhone to get IT work done faster and better. Are there any other apps out there that an IT Pro can’t live without? If so, drop them in the comments below.    

5 Must Have iPhone Apps for an IT Pro s Mobile Toolkit - 95 Must Have iPhone Apps for an IT Pro s Mobile Toolkit - 75 Must Have iPhone Apps for an IT Pro s Mobile Toolkit - 115 Must Have iPhone Apps for an IT Pro s Mobile Toolkit - 515 Must Have iPhone Apps for an IT Pro s Mobile Toolkit - 935 Must Have iPhone Apps for an IT Pro s Mobile Toolkit - 42