You should. After all, since there are 2.3 billion active social media users, you can use social media sites for a variety of reasons. If you are a blogger or website creator, you can draw attention to your site. In addition, you can use social media to draw attention to a cause you believe in or share personal news. Also, you can use social media to find like-minded users who share your interests. You can even try to market a product using social media.

Just One Simple Tip

There are many ways to get more attention at social media sites by following one simple tip: Look at your analytics at the various social media sites you use. This step in your social media strategy is free, easy, and quick to follow. Business dashboards contain the analytics and most social media sites have business dashboards. A business dashboard is an easy-to-read data visualization tool that displays your performance. Every social media site has a dashboard that displays data. By looking at the data, you can repeat your effectiveness at those sites. Here are examples of how you can step up your social media strategy by looking at analytics. When you go to your Twitter account, you will see your analytics near your profile picture. They are visible every 24 hours. By looking at the screenshot, you can see my blog posts received the most impressions at approximately 10:00 pm. I want to make sure I tweet at the time I am the most effective, for maximum attention on Twitter. Autoschedulers like Hootsuite and Buffer are available in case I can’t be at a computer at that time. With 320 million monthly users, capitalizing on your previous Twitter successes is a great way to get more online attention.

2. Flipboard

Click on your profile picture. Then, click on the analytics symbol.

By looking at the screenshot, you can see my Flipboard analytics show my top five best performing articles. Flipboard has more than 50 million users. If I want to capitalize on users’ (“flippers”) interest in me, I would write more content that users find interesting.

3. Pinterest

When you go into your Pinterest account, you will see “Analytics” in the upper left. Click it.

Your Pinterest analytics show your pin that’s the most popular with “pinners” in the last month. If you want to get more attention on Pinterest, you need to make more pins like your most popular pins since that’s what your Pinterest followers enjoy seeing.

4. Facebook

Many website creators have pages for their online businesses. Facebook has over one billion users. By paying close attention to their analytics, content creators can replicate successes at this popular site.

Click on the name of your page. Then click “Insights”.

You see my analytics in the screenshot. Facebook users were more engaged with my writing than they were the previous week. I need to repeat the content I’m posting, and I should continue to see increased engagement.

5. Google+

When you are logged into your Google account, you will see your notifications next to your profile picture. Click on the red circle.

By looking at my Google+ analytics, you can see that six people “+1’d” my secret blogging hacks article. At Google+, “+1” means they are recommending my article to their followers. These six people are interested in my content. If I want more social shares, I should write more content like this. Since they already shared this article, I can expect they will share more like it.

6. Instagram

Even Instagram has analytics. Instagram is a photo sharing site with over 400 million users.

If you hover over a photo you uploaded, you will see statistics showing likes and comments. If I upload more photos like this to Instagram, I can expect to be effective at gaining traction from this social media site and have more people like my photos.

Conclusion

There is a whole host of reasons to use social media sites. If you are a website creator, research exists which point to added benefits to following these tips. In addition to getting more online attention, your website will rank higher on search engines. Also, the more people who find you at social media sites, the more possibilities you have of users sharing your articles with their social media followers. This, in turn, creates even more online attention for you. As diverse as all our backgrounds are, there are benefits at social media sites for everyone. Online attention only scratches the surface. Readers of my blog know I always look at the dashboards at social media sites in order to repeat my successes there. For the reasons mentioned in this article, so should you. To boost your effectiveness at social media sites, you should implement a strategy. This post suggested following one step in that strategy – look at your analytics. At most sites, they can be found in your dashboard. For this reason, your social media success can be found there too. Featured photo credit: Flickr.com via flickr.com

6 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 376 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 286 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 306 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 956 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 486 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 376 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 926 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 286 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 26 Ways to Get More Social Media Attention - 57