Cutting Quill Pens from Feathers – [Liralen Li via Make Blog] I buy my feathers from local Hobby Lobby, Ben Franklin, or even Michael’s; and whatever hobby shop that’s filled with odd baskets, dried flowers, leather lacing, candles galore, and beads is the place to hunt down feathers. I’ve seen these kinds of shops all over the Seattle area, the San Diego area and the Denver area, so I’m assuming that they’re accessible from all over the U.S.. I have no clue what international equivalents are, but would be glad to list them here if someone tells me. Usually they have bags of ‘Indian Feathers’ (made in China or Taiwan or whatever) with about six feathers for about a buck and a quarter, so they’re about a quarter apiece for usable quill feathers. The usable ones don’t have a crushed tube and do have a significant portion of nearly transparent tubing underneath the plume of the feather. I’ve actually had some bad luck finding a majority of usable feathers in the packets at Michael’s, so try the others if you can, first…

DIY Quill Pens - 33